Cogs and Wheels: The material culture of revolutionary China

March 6, 2007

Stuff available on YouTube on a Cultural Revolution theme

I’m really frustrated – I found a link to a download of Antonioni’s (1972) Chung Kuo (‘China’) via this blog.  (There’s some background info about the film there too.) I downloaded it, but I can’t play it – argh!  Nevertheless, there is a small section available (in Italian with Chinese subtitles) on YouTube.  And it got me thinking about blogging about the other Cultural Revolution-related stuff I’ve found on YouTube recently.  So, here’s a quick overview…

To start, here is that clip of Chung Kuo, focusing on Tiananmen Square

Shame my Italian is non-existent. Will have to work on recognising those characters! (If anyone knows what I need to do in order to get the download to play, please do let me know.)

And this is an all too short extract from Red Detachment of Women. (There’s a serious ‘technicolor’ effect going on here.)

Finally, a short film about theThe Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution, featuring contemporary film clips, stills and material culture from the Cultural Revolution. The narration presents an…ahem… ‘uncritical’, shall we say, perspective of the decade 1966-1976. (There are, incidentally, no clues about its authorship, or indeed whether it was made especially for YouTube.)

That’s enough for now. I’m sure there’s loads more good stuff on YouTube though. I shall invest a little time in ‘digging’ and present my findings in due course. 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. movies on Lin Biao’s Long Live Victory of People’s War:

    Comment by monkeysmashesheaven — July 12, 2007 @ 11:28 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

